Program Announced for National Charro Championship Millionaire Vallarta 2014

Pedro Castillo - Mirada Informativa
go to original
February 20, 2014

Promo 12th Campeonato Nacional Charro Vallarta 2014 (Asociacion Charros de Vallarta A.C.)

What could be more fun than a Mexican Rodeo?

The 12th edition of the National Charro Championship is about to begin and is expected to be the best Charro festivity in the region.

Included in the program are five of the six finalists of last year's tournament, where the winner was Rancho El Eden followed by Rancho La Biznaga, Los Tres Potrillos, Camino Real de Colima, Tequila Hacienda Vieja and Tequila Don Roberto, but any of the other 19 entries could provide a surprise upset.

As part of the Organizing Committee, Ibarria Armando Urrutia, promises "no bad days" in the four day Charro Championship to be held from February 27 through March 2, 2014.

As a gift to the fans, raffle tickets with be included in the admission fee to win hotel stays, TV's and other great prizes.

The rodeo event will open on Thursday, February 27, at 3:30 pm with civilian, military and officials. The Charros of Jalisco, Tequila Hacienda Vieja, El Rancho and Charros Quevedeno Vallarta will be presented. Expect a surprise event at 7:00.

The action begins at 1:00 pm on Friday, the 28th, with competitions between Rancho Las Cuatas, Rancho Nuevo de Tapa and Charros de San Julian GSP, followed at 4:00 by Nopala Regional, Camotlan Bridge, Mexiquense Force and Charros La Villa Gold. The last of the daily competitions at 7:00 will be San Jose del Valle, Dorados de San Miguel and Oaxtepec Tlalixtac. The Maleconeada Traditional Music Band will entertain at 10:30 pm.

Saturday, March 1, will begin at 11:30 am with Valle de Saltillo, Tamaulipecos Tres Regalos and Rancho La Biznaga, followed at 3:30 by Rancho El Eden, Tres Potrillos, Rancho Agua Santa and Tamariz CYM (National Champions). At 7:00, the Regionales de Texcoco, Hacienda de Triana, Charros de Nayarit and Tequila Don Roberto will take the arena, followed at 10:00 with entertainment by Super Jaripeo and Popular Dance with Leo Ibarria.

The final competitions will begin at 12:30 on Sunday, March 2, with the charro teams that finished in 4th, 5th and 6th place. At 4:30, competitions will begin with the leaders in 1st, 2nd and 3rd place. At 7:30, awards will be presented to the winners and the surprise raffle tickets will be drawn.

"Charros de Jalisco" was the very first Charro association, or team, in Mexico and was founded long ago in 1920. Then followed the teams Zopopan, Laguense de Charros, El Amigo de Sayula and the Union de San Antonio and then, way back in 1947, Puerto Vallarta A.C. was founded by Miguel "Prieto" Ibarra Gonzalez, making Vallarta one of the pioneers of Charro organizers.

The venue will be the Lienzo Charro Miguel "Prieto" Ibarria Arena in Volcanes Colony, see the map here. For more information, visit the Puerto Vallarta Charro Association on Facebook.

Translated and edited by Team Angels

We invite you to add your charity or supporting organizations' news stories and coming events to PVAngels so we can share them with the world. Do it now!

You Can Make a Difference

Coronavirus - How You Can HelpIf you would like to donate directly to the non-profits in Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit, here are some suggestions you may want to consider to help our local communities in this time of greatest need.

Coronavirus - How You Can Help

Local News

Discover Vallarta-Nayarit

Banderas Bay offers 34 miles of incomparable coastline in the states of Jalisco and Nayarit, and is home to Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit's many great destinations.